A hangover of a different sort.

01Nov08

I woke up this morning, the day after Halloween, feeling different than I had on the day after Halloween in years past.

I felt a little woozy, with a funny taste in my mouth. No throbbing headache, though. No unquenchable thirst. No shaky hands.

See, I hadn’t toured the neighborhood last night with a plastic cup o’ wine in my hand while my daughters rang doorbells and gathered loot. I hadn’t sat on the porch refilling my glass from a bottle of cabernet while I waited to hand out KitKats and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups. I hadn’t gone to a party and helped myself to drink after drink, late into the night.

Instead, I had enjoyed the evening sipping nothing more than a Sprite and a few glasses of water. Oh, and eating about a dozen pieces of various kinds of chocolate candy. Well….maybe two dozen.

But a candy hangover beats a cabernet hangover any day.

3 Responses to “A hangover of a different sort.”

  1. Cool. Yeah i had a sweet tooth when i was new too. hehe
    it passes! now carrot sticks and stuff like that.
    hope you settle in and find yourself a sponsor who knows what she is talking about. before you know it you will have finished the forst nine steps and will be off galavanting around the world sober having a WHALE of a time.

    well you never know!
    keep coming back as they say!

  2. 2 C

    Thank you for the encouragement. I’ll be back!

  3. That reminds me of another tip that I learned when I was pregnant. When you’re at a bar, ginger ale can be a yummy replacement.


Leave a Reply

