New York state of mind.

15Nov08

Next stpI am in New York City for a girls’ weekend.

I have been slightly nervous about this trip since I started in AA a month ago. My friends are good friends – my BFFs, in fact, and they’re all very understanding and supportive.

They’re also my old drinking buddies. And old habits die hard.

I consulted with my sponsor before I left, and she had some good advice, helpful hints for making it through the weekend. Among them were to always have an exit strategy in case I found the situation overwhelming or tempting, and to request some incredibly silly and fancy alcohol-free concoction from the friendly bartender wherever we may be.

I also collected plenty of phone numbers from people to call in case these things didn’t help.

And, amazingly, I hadn’t been in the city two hours before I got a call from a woman here in Manhattan– Kathy — who’d been contacted by one of my new AA program friends back home. Kathy offered to meet me at a Friday meeting at the AA World Headquarters off Riverside Drive. This in itself was incredible enough – how kind of her to call me and offer assistance (I’m still getting used to this aspect of the program).

Even more incredible, however, was this “AA World Headquarters” thing. I never knew there was such a place! Of course, I’m still a newcomer, but still… I couldn’t help wonder…what is it? Is it like Mecca for Friends of Bill W? The Mothership? The Holy Grail? What would happen if I went? Was I worthy?

I was so intrigued and really wanted to go, but we had plans for MOMA and the Whitney that I couldn’t rearrange. I am determined to go while I’m here, however. It just seems too good to pass up. When I do go, I will be sure to report back, never fear.

In the meantime, I’m enjoying my trip to New York, staying sober in the city that never sleeps, one day at a time.

If I can make it here, I’ll make it anywhere.

4 Responses to “New York state of mind.”

  1. I’m glad I stumbled onto your blog. You’re weird. I dig that.

  2. The mecca would be Dr. Bob’s House in Akron, Ohio. I visited in August and it was worth it. Congratulations on pulling off what could easily be a very slippery vacation. Well done.

  3. I agree about Akron. I’ve been there, and I want to go to Bill W’s place. You’ve added another to my list! I hope you enjoy your friends more, now that you’re sober.

  4. High praise from Pam!

    If you’d been drinking in NY, you likely would have been hungover at the MOMA and Whitney and it wouldn’t have been as enjoyable.


Leave a Reply

