Status quo.

22Nov08

door light blast

Aside from this blog and Flickr, my other current online self-expression passion is Facebook.

I’m not sure why it surprises me, but I just realized that a healthy (or perhaps unhealthy?) amount of my Friends often have status updates related to drinking.

Behold, a sampling from today:

J. is home, armed with a glass of wine, and ready for very little action.

T. is ready for beer:30.

D. is like one of those toy thermodynamically powered water-drinking birds, but for booze.

S. is letting her friends feed her grilled cheese and champagne.

M. believes that beer is the gift you give yourself.

While I have no desire to drink right now, all those damn alcohol references kinda bug me. But it’s okay. I’m in my pj’s, ready to read a bit of the Big Book before turning in. But first I have to update my status.

C. is sipping chamomile tea and looking forward to the morning.

3 Responses to “Status quo.”

  1. 1 Kathy K

    You are going to have the BETTER morning of ALL your friends! đŸ™‚ And hey…early jamies and chamomile tea…I’m jealous!! Next weekend invite them to your house and serve them smoothies! Mmmm, exotic smoothies! You’ll be a hit, or they like alcohol better. Then you’ll know and you can delete them from your facebook friends.

    Hugs and best of luck!!

    Kathy

  2. 2 Stork

    Ha! I know who D. is, and I think he could definitely use a little help from the Big Book! Now that you mention it, I have noticed lots of references of FB too. Kind of sad, really.

  3. 3 Sharon

    Recently I listened to the CDs: Simple Abundance by Sarah Ban Breathnach. I was so struck by how a glass of wine was in the “pamper yourself into wholeness” list . How can a drug that is toxic to everyone’s body… even nonalcoholics… be considered on such a list? Once I saw alcohol for what it really is and not this romanticized drink the media brainwashed me to believe it is, I am also struck by it prevalence everywhere and not just on Facebook.


Leave a Reply

