A gift that’s meant to be regifted.

25Dec08

Xmas ornamentsIt’s the gift that keeps on giving.

It made me happy to stay up late wrapping presents, setting out Santa’s cookies and carrots for his reindeer.

It had me waking up early, hangover-free, and ready to face a crisp, cool Christmas day.

It’s brought me some nice new friends, a new appreciation for my old ones, and a new outlook on life.

And I’d like to give it away.

My sobriety is such an incredibly wonderful thing. And I hope to encourage anyone out there who might be considering getting sober as a New Year’s resolution or just a new resolution — do it. It’s tough, but so worth it.

How to do it?

Go to an AA meeting. Go to another. If you’re scared to go, or think you might not like the people you see in an AA meeting, don’t worry. The people I’ve met in AA are the nicest, kindest, most welcoming and understanding folks on the planet. Seriously. But if you feel you don’t fit in at that meeting, find another. Trust me, you’ll find one where you feel more at ease, and eventually you’ll feel at home.

They’ve got the same gift, and they know the only way to keep it is to give it away – to pass it on, to pay it forward.

Even if you stumble, if you fall off the wagon, don’t worry. You can still pick yourself up and get that sobriety back. Unlike so many presents out there in the malls and big box stores right now, it’s not a limited time offer, and supplies will last.

Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night.

3 Responses to “A gift that’s meant to be regifted.”

  1. awww that s a very sweet post. ..sounds like life is good over where you are πŸ™‚

  2. This is a wonderful post and I hope that it reaches those who need it. I’m pleased to hear you are doing well πŸ™‚

  3. 3 C

    LIfe is good, thank you. I feel very happy and very blessed to be where I am right now. I know I’m still a newbie, and I don’t have a lot of experience in sobriety under my belt, but thought I would share what I could.


Leave a Reply

