Resolved to make no resolutions.

06Jan09

rain dropletIn 2008, I made two major changes to my life: I scaled back my job, and I got sober.

Pretty big stuff. So I’m gonna take it easy on me in 2009. After all, my AA sponsor keeps reminding me: “Be kind to yourself.” It’s a hard thing for this perfectionist to do, as I am always eager and determined to fix the things that aren’t right.

So for now, I’ll just keep up the sobriety, and try to make the most of my extra time.

I also might start cutting back on the sweets…

And…eventually wean myself off the 4 -5 cigarettes per week that I’ve been indulging in…

Oh, damn it. Those are resolutions, aren’t they?

2 Responses to “Resolved to make no resolutions.”

  1. Yo C….

    Glad you remain sober.

    If resolutions seem too big, how about daily resolutions. They seem to work for me. Have managed to put well over 1,000 daily resolutions not to drink in a row.

    Amazing how fast they stack up.

    Happy belated NY.

    Ciao. Chaz

  2. 2 C

    Thanks, Chaz.

    Ahhhh….yes, the daily resolution. It really is that simple, isn’t it? For some reason I think we always feel the need to make a big pronouncement and make it a larger-scale thing. Breaking it down into smaller bits always works better. Doesn’t seem as impressive…until you add them all up….as you noted. 1,000? Wow. Good on you.

    I’ll be at 90 next week.

    Here’s to a wonderful 2009. One day at a time.


Leave a Reply

