An open love letter to AA.

13Feb09

heart leaves
Dear AA,

At the risk of getting all mushy and corny, I wanted to tell you what a difference you’ve made in my life.

You’ve opened the door to a better understanding, acceptance and appreciation of myself.

Through you, I’ve met many incredibly wise, loving and very human people. You’ve helped me start to make my existing relationships better and more honest.

You have encouraged me to do difficult things. I know you will continue to ask me to do what’s hard, and though I may not like it, I know that if I do these things, I will be the better for it.

You don’t judge me. You’ve shown me how not to judge others. (Though I still do…but I’m working on that.)

You’ve helped me to be present, to live more in the moment. (Once again, I still have a lot of work to do here.)

You’ve given me serenity.

Through you, I’ve learned a lot, and I know it’s just the beginning. I’m looking forward to our future together, as our relationship deepens and evolves.

Thank you for guiding me. Thank you for being there.

Above all, thank you for giving me hope.

With love,

C.

2 Responses to “An open love letter to AA.”

  1. ah bless.
    i feel the same way 🙂

  2. That’s beautiful 🙂 I think of all the newcomers sitting in meetings and bittching and moaning about being there. Yet you are filled with gratitude. Good stuff.


Leave a Reply

