Wow.

07Mar09

 

waiting at airport

En route to my high school reunion yesterday, I had an hour layover in Dallas-Ft. Worth. I got some lunch and then strolled around, camera in hand, snapping on the fly every now and then. 

When it was getting close to boarding time, I started heading toward my gate. 

 

Just in front of it was an information kiosk, unmanned at the time, with several brochures about local attractions. I spied one about art museums and galleries that looked interesting, and as I went to get it, something else caught my eye: On the counter just in front of the brochure rack were two coins. But they were no ordinary coins.

One was a silver AA “desire” chip, which alcoholics get at meetings to symbolize their desire to not drink for 24 hours — one day at a time. 

The other was a bronze AA one-year “birthday” chip, given to those AA’s who’ve achieved one year of sobriety in the program.

Wow.

I did one of those cartoon-like double-takes, whipping my head back around to stare at these coins, sitting there so…anonymously.

Then I looked around me. No one was near the kiosk. No one approached to ask me if I needed help. No one seemed to own these coins. They were just…THERE. 

Wow.

That’s all I can really manage to say about it.

Wow.

2 Responses to “Wow.”

  1. Now THAT is cool!

  2. 2 Chaz

    My finely tuned recovery radar is detecting that perahps it is a sign that you don’t need to drink at your reunion.

    I know what you’re saying…. “Wow, is that guy perceptive. I never thought of that”.

    Ya… I know. I have this ability to spot the painfully obvious.

    No charge from Chaz the Medium for the read on this one sister.

    Don’t be too hard on the nerdy kids at the reunion. They are probably all dot-comm billionaires by now.

    Ciao.

    Chaz (class of ’83)


Leave a Reply

