A trip worth taking.

20Mar09

beach footprintsBefore I left for my high school reunion two weeks ago, I wrote a post about the trip and my formative years, and how integral drinking had been to my high school experience. And while I had no worries about staying sober during my visit to the past, I wasn’t sure what sorts of emotions the trip down memory lane might provoke.

As it turned out, my weekend was really good. I always love being around S. & K., my two BFFs who can get me laughing like few other people in this world. The evening before the reunion, we pored through our senior yearbook and reminisced late into the night.

The reunion itself was fun. I had already caught up with many of the people on Facebook, so there wasn’t much new news to share. It was good to see them in person, though, and see just how much some had changed, and how much others hadn’t.

Of course, there was the expected recounting of wacky high school hijinx, much of it alcohol-related, some of which made me cringe.

There were also a few other uncomfortable incidents that night. One woman who’d had a bit too much to drink was hanging all over her high school boyfriend, despite the fact that both were married now. And another woman, just two hours into the party, was stumbling around, tripping down stairs and slurring her words sloppily.

I felt embarrassed and sorry for her — and I couldn’t help but wonder how many times in the past people had felt that way about me.

The afternoon following the party, as my two friends and I sat outside enjoying the early afternoon breeze,  S. said to me, “Don’t take this the wrong way, but…”

I braced myself.

“…I like you better sober.”

I looked at her.

I smiled.

“I like myself better sober, too.”

2 Responses to “A trip worth taking.”

  1. Wow. Just wow.

  2. 2 Kathy

    Thank you…what you wrote touched me…for today. One day at a time. I like me better sober too. 🙂 Hugs.


Leave a Reply

