Blue chip by the numbers.

17Apr09
bluechipbaby

Ain't it purdy?

October 16, 2008 is my sobriety “birthday.”

This week I picked up the lovely blue chip that marks my achieving six months of sobriety in the AA program.

After a bit of reflection, I thought I’d share some stats about the past six months of my life:

  • 182 = alcohol-free evenings
  • 182 = hangover-free mornings
  • 100 = AA meetings attended (approximately)
  • 55 = blog posts about getting sober
  • 30 = bottles of sparkling water substituted for bottles of wine
  • 12 = alcohol-free airplane flights
  • 8 = crying jags
  • 6 = months of sobriety in AA
  • 4 = Step I’m working right now
  • 3 = steps completed in AA’s 12-step program
  • 1 = AA sponsor/friend/wise woman/guardian angel
  • 0 = blackouts
  • 0 = drunk driving episodes
  • 0=drinking episodes I’ll regret

Thanks for reading and for your encouragement and support.

Keep coming back. It works if you work it. And you’re worth it.

13 Responses to “Blue chip by the numbers.”

  1. (standing up clapping) Whoo hoo! You go girl!

  2. 2 alphabet819

    congratulations! 8^)
    six months of sobriety takes a lot of work and commitment. thanks for your example, especially sharing your experience, strength, and hope with others in recovery. (i am also especially grateful that i have zero DD episodes since getting sober.)
    keep up the good work!

  3. Congratulations! What an amazing thing to celebrate.
    Keep up the good work and know that even though I don’t know you in real life, I am very proud of what you’ve accomplished.

  4. 4 a

    1 = one day at a time. a million more congrats!

  5. Congratulations!

  6. 6 -kel

    Woooo-hoo! I’m really proud of you. Good job! Keep it up!

  7. 7 alex

    i stumbled across your blog yesterday morning. seeking.
    your list, your accounting, stopped me. i’ve returned to it repeatedly these past 39 hours. how wonderful, powerful, and free. and full of possibility for me. as well as a wrecked sense of potential failure, havoc and doom. and some frankly- i am normal why do i have to succumb entirely? and then i’m stunnedonceagain by your accounting. i can’t make one of those… perhaps today since i was in too much pain to even consider it since my waking 39 hours ago. not f-k all much longer. i want… congratulations. thank you.

  8. 8 C

    Thanks to all for the kind words and congratulations.

    Seven or eight months ago, in the depths of despair, I would have NEVER imagined I’d be at this point.

    Everything else I want to say feels so cliched, but it’s all true.

    Alex, I’m glad you found me. Keep reading and coming back if you can. Good luck and best wishes to you.

    C.

  9. 9 M

    8= Myself and the others commenting before me who send congratulations! Thank you again for sharing your journey.

  10. C…. good on ya.

    I think the chips are great milestone markers that really help us in the first year.

    Hey…. how about this for your list….

    1 = Number of happier lives since sobering up and recovering?

    Ciao.

    Chaz

  11. 11 C

    Thanks, Chaz & M.

    Yes, 1 = happier, healthier, more honest me.

    Full disclosure: I did forget to mention this other number, which I’m currently working to curtail so it doesn’t increase too dramatically in the next 6 months:

    12 = packs of American Spirits smoked. (cough! cough!)

  12. 12 Sally

    hat a milestone! I remember my 6 month birthday very vaguely but I DO remember 30 day;, where I sat in the room – who was there – perhaps my clothing on that day.

  13. C, you never, ever cease to amaze me! You are truly an inspiration, and I am so happy for you! Congratulations!


Leave a Reply

