Daisy needs to let go.

09Sep09

Daisy's ball, all rights reserved, copyright 2009This is one of Daisy’s balls.

Daisy, in case you missed that post, is the one-year-old rescue dog who joined our family a month ago.

She’s an active dog, and still very puppylike in many ways. One of her favorite activities is playing fetch, and while she chases and snatches up balls with great enthusiasm and speed, she hasn’t quite mastered the art of letting go.

When I throw a ball, she dashes after it, grabs it and comes barrelling back to me. She brings the ball right up to me, sometimes placing it in or near my hand, but she never lets it go.

My daughters and I have used treats to get her to “Drop it!” Sometimes it works, sometimes it doesn’t. And even after several successful rounds of getting her to drop the ball in exchange for the treat, she’ll go right back to stubbornly keeping the ball in her mouth if there’s no treat to be had.

As much as she loves to run and fetch that ball, she just won’t. let. go.

“I can’t throw it if you won’t let go,” I tell her. (Because, you know, surely this dog of mine can understand me.) “I know you like a good game of tug-o-war, but isn’t fetch more fun?”

At least it seems that way to me.

Daisy & her ball, all rights reserved, copyright 2009Let go of the ball, and you can run and play fetch again. Stop hanging on, Daisy, because it inevitably ends with me giving up and letting you have your way, and then you’re left with the ball — but no one to throw it.

Like Daisy, I have many, many things I cling to, holding on to tighter and tighter, trying to keep them under my control, when I really just need to loosen my grip…and give up that damn ball.

“Drop it!”

I’m sure Daisy will learn to let go in due time.

Me, too. Eventually.

2 Responses to “Daisy needs to let go.”

  1. 1 Sharon

    I read somewhere…

    In the end, it is not how well we lived our life, but how well we let go 😉

  2. 2 Mary W.

    Daisy seems to be teaching you something! Isn’t it grand how our HPs talk to us?


Leave a Reply

