Reason NOT to drink #8: It’s my birthday.

11Jun10

Time was, a birthday was the perfect excuse for me to get drunk. Not that I needed much to coax me to indulge, but birthdays were a given. Added bonus: the booze was free and people tended to overlook any lack of moderation. After all, IT’S YOUR BIRTHDAY! PARTY ON!

At forty-something, I’m long past the age when getting drunk on your birthday isn’t that bad. Not to say that it’s perfectly okay to get sloshed while celebrating, but a stumbling, slurring middle-aged woman is particularly embarrassing and unattractive.

This year, I’m looking forward to celebrating and waking up on June 12 feeling bright-eyed and bushy-tailed. I’ll be spending the evening at a friend’s house by the water with some of my best girlfriends and our daughters.

This is only the second birthday in nearly three decades that I’ve celebrated without alcohol. It feels weird to think that, and then type that, but it’s true.

And I’m really looking forward to it.

6 Responses to “Reason NOT to drink #8: It’s my birthday.”

  1. Happy (belated) Birthday! I hope you had a lovely sober time 🙂

  2. What a nice thing to find. A new PFJ post! Glad you had a fun birthday. I, too, am learning how to redefine a “fun” time. My first impulse when there is a need to celebrate still goes directly to let’s-get-drunk. Aren’t we lucky that we don’t have to do that anymore.

  3. 3 Em

    I just had my first sober birthday (June 17) in many years and it was wonderful 🙂 I can’t wait to do it again next year! congrats, and thanks for sharing, and happy belated birthday

  4. 4 Sharon

    HaPpY BeLaTeD BiRtHdAy 🙂 NOPE… *not* a reason to drink!

  5. Happy b-day! I had to stop by your blog just for the title! One of my favorite excerpts from the BB. Brilliant!

  6. 6 LadynNY

    This is a timely post. And judging by the date a gift that keeps on giving. Tomorrow is my birthday and I have struggled for the past week with the drinking question. I don’t want to be drunk anymore. I’ve tried really hard to stay sober. I’ve mostly been successful. When I drink I make really bad decisions. I become this totally no holds barred person with virtually no boundaries…and obnoxious to boot.

    After playing “Miss Stupid” all night, I wake up with a headache, eat too much, and feel a tremendous amount of guilt not only for what I may have done the night before but for the fact that I became drunk to begin with.

    I am better than the liquor and poor decisions. My body deserves the highest respect and care. It is my job to provide the best for me. I have to be my own gatekeeper be it by way of determined strength or choosing to lean on someone for support.

    Thanks for the boost I needed today to reason more clearly. Thanks for giving me “Reasons to NOT Drink # 8: My Birthday”. It is a great reason not to drink indeed. Thanks from all of us who want to live a sober life.


Leave a Reply

