SO wrong. And yet SO funny.

16Feb11

I just “stumbled” across this short film while perusing my Twitterfeed.

I’m sure there are folks who may be offended, and I’m sorry if they are. I know portraying a baby with alcohol isn’t politically correct, but damn if this video isn’t laugh-out-loud funny. I’ve been chuckling in my cube all morning – and forwarding it to my fellow AAs.

It made me think back to all the times I’d gulped down drinks like the toddler in the film, staggered through a bar, and knocked over furniture/plates/glasses/etc.  For some reason, seeing drunk adults behaving badly in person or on screen makes me wince. It’s not funny to me because it cuts too close to the bone. Been there, done that.

But there’s just something disarming about the juxtaposition of the child with the alcoholic behavior that makes it comical. Obviously the baby’s not drunk, and the director’s not suggesting we let our kids get liquored up, nor am I (see my last post).  I think I enjoy the video because it’s so obviously surreal, and allows me to laugh at myself – and perhaps to recognize how childish and silly and irresponsible I became when under the influence.

Or maybe I’m overanalyzing. Maybe it’s just damn funny.

No Responses Yet to “SO wrong. And yet SO funny.”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

