Happy Hump Day.

02Mar11

I had to share this because it epitomizes my thought processes. And it’s Wednesday. And it’s funny.

I live inside my head soooooo much. I constantly obsess over fears, relationship dynamics, perceived slights, financial insecurity, you name it. I analyze the shit out of stuff and make up the most incredible stories in my mind, only to find out that – 99% of the time – they’re just that: stories.

In my AA meetings, I hear others relate tales of how they do The Exact Same Thing. It helps to know that I’m not the only one doing this. I’ve also heard suggestions on various actions to take to get out of my head and into experiencing the moment in a healthy manner. How to get over that hump, as it were. Prayer is one way. Service work is another. I’ve been doing a lot of praying lately, and it is helping. I’ve yet to get back into service work, and it’s on my list.

This morning, my sponsor suggested I try doing something completely different – an activity that was a real, physical change for me. Something like scuba diving or horseback riding. Something that would challenge me and have me thinking about entirely different processes, and have me focusing on the moment out of necessity. I really appreciated that suggestion. I love to snorkel, but I’m a bit claustrophobic, so scuba scares me. It could be just what I need to jolt me and my mind out of this pattern of obsessing and overanalyzing.

It might be just what I need to get me over the hump.

3 Responses to “Happy Hump Day.”

  1. 1 Stef

    Doesn’t Dance Dance Party Party count? How bout we go Zumba. I still have 19 free passes to Ballet Austin.

    Or, wanna go kayaking one afternoon?

  2. 2 Sarah

    Great idea! Keep us posted on what you try. Doing new things always re-energizes me and makes me feel really proud and good of myself after!

  3. Thanks for the good thoughts and comedy relief. I am also a obsessive, over-analyzer and really enjoyed someone else’s over-thinking:)


Leave a Reply

